Birthdays Today

Birthdays Tomorrow

If head and not heart can be used, Cristiano Ronaldo is 2013 Ballon d'Or winner

Ballon d'Or otherwise known as Golden Ball, is a FIFA football award given annually to the player who is considered to have performed the best in the previous year. It is allegedly awarded based on votes by coaches and captains of international teams, as well as journalists from around the world.

Fans have always questioned if voters apply their mind or heart when deciding on this award. Some voters were quoted as saying they look at what a player has achieved in the year under review, with the number of trophies a player won used as a backing.

One can never go by the words of such voters with regard to the number of trophies a player won used a backing since this was never the case when the 2012 winner had no trophy to show but walked away with the accolade.

The soccer fraternity has also seen how Cristiano Ronaldo set and broke many records before, only not to be awarded the 2011 accolade. I guess that is the year we learnt of the excuse about the number of trophies. I am now beginning to sound like CR7 fanatic. Let me leave politics to politicians.

Back to the topic, the 2013 FIFA Ballon d'Or. Only three candidates (Lionel Messi, Franck Ribery and Cristiano Ronaldo) left. And those who follow soccer will confirm Ronaldo did far better than both of his rivals in the year under review. It will be an insult to the football fraternity to compare his work rate against that of the other two candidates. I mean mentioning the goals he scored and created in the UEFA Champions League, Spanish League and what he has done for his country Portugal will be like bragging.

On the evening Cristiano Ronaldo scored a brilliant hat-trick to seal Portugal’s passage to 2014 World Cup, FIFA extended the voting period for this year’s Ballon d’Or winner.

The ballot had closed on November 15, but captains, managers and media voters can deliberate for a further nine days if they have not already submitted their top three players. FIFA also confirmed those who have already voted can reassess the names they have put forward. We can only hope mind and not the heart will be used.

Views: 120

Comment by Zweli' the maverick' on December 5, 2013 at 13:53

Its only fair to say they are hoping that Messi recovers in time and scores his own hattrick in order for him to be declared the winner...remember that even Sepp Blatter himself doesnt like CR7

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of Soccer Gags to add comments!

Join Soccer Gags

© 2022   Created by Leonard Masango.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service